Document Type

Response or Comment

Publication Date



The peaceful transition of power in the United States is marked by the inauguration of a president every four years. This has been the case since the first president of the United States, George Washington. Though the date, location, and time have changed since then, the oath of office has remained the same. This past Wednesday America witnessed the inauguration of our 46th president, Joe Biden. However, the absence of his predecessor, the storming of the United States Capitol on January 6th, and the COVID pandemic made it an inauguration like no other.


This is the 2nd entry in the Critical Questions series.